Apr 20, 2013, 22:12

Austin Hogue victor in “358” sprints; Jason Townsend wins first of career in Thundercars


ABBOTTSTOWN, PA , 4/20/13 –“I like running the schedule that we run…traveling and getting to do what my grandpa did, seeing different tracks. But by far, I love Lincoln Speedway the best. I consider it my home track, and it’s a real fun track to race here. There’s no better fans in the country. To come back home and race in front of these people right here. It’s exciting, they hype up sprint car racing, and definitely make it fun for this area.”


So said 2012 national 410 sprint car rookie of-the-year Logan Schuchart after claiming his first career Lincoln 410 sprint win in Saturday night’s 25-lap feature event.


Schuchart, grandson of the legendary Bobby Allen, was slated for a sixth-starting spot in the Your Auto Source/Rick Fogle Custom Pole Buildings/Brenneman Painting/CnB Mushroom Farms #1s, but started on the outside of row two when Todd Rittenhouse, Jr. scratched from the feature and gave up his second starting spot.


Cory Haas assumed second for the start, and both he and Schuchart got around polesitter Hunter Mackison in the first two turns. Schuchart chased Haas the first 16 laps before diving under the lapped car of Tim Glatfelter and Haas entering turn three of lap 17. From there, Schuchart pulled away for the win, with Haas settling for second and fifth-starting Adam Wilt third. Ninth-starting Fred Rahmer and eighth-starting Brian Montieth completed the top five.


Schuchart’s official time in the non-stop feature was 6 minutes, 37.236 seconds. In fact, the entire 410 sprint portion of the show was run caution-free.


Sixth through tenth were 14th-starting Danny Dietrich, 12th-starting Alan Krimes, 13th-starting Jim Siegel; Brent Marks, and J.J. Grasso.


Heats for the 26 “410” Sprinters were won by invader Brian Paulus, Fred Rahmer, and Brent Marks, with Ryan Smith winning the consolation.


Manchester’s Austin Hogue became the fourth winner in as many races in the non-stop 20-lap “358” sprint car feature.


Third-starting Tyler Ross drove under both polesitter Brad McClelland and outside front-row starter Hogue for the lead at the start, but a red flag for a flipping Eric Tomecek on turn four resulted in a complete restart. The Livingston Lawn Care/BAPS Auto Paints and Supply #52 drove around McClelland for the lead on the restart, and Hogue led every lap for his third win of 2013 (previous wins at Trail-Way and Williams Grove).


Niki Young caught McClelland for second on lap 13 and finished runner-up, with Ross crossing third, Mark Smith catching McClelland for fourth on the final lap. Sixth through tenth behind McClelland were Tim Wagaman, Dale Hammaker, Brie Hershey, Jeff Rohrbaugh, and Mark Strickler.


Due to the complete restart at the beginning, Hogue’s 5-minute, 35-second win was an officially-timed 20-lap event.


Heats for the 29 “358” Sprints were won by Ross, Wagaman, and Young.


After years of trying, York’s Jason Townsend found his way to victory lane in winning the 20-lap Thundercar feature.


Townsend grabbed the lead from his outside frontrow starting position over polesitter Wayne Dutterer at the drop of the green and pulled out to a comfortable lead of the first half of the feature.


Meanwhile a battle raged for second through fifth as Dutterer, Jimmy Combs, Duane Watson and Brian Walls were passing each other for position lap-after-lap. With five laps to go Walls and Watson had moved solidly into second and third and began to chase down the leader.


On the final lap, Walls pulled alongside Townsend coming off the final corner to the checkered but was able to hold him off for his career first thundercar victory as they leaned on each other to the checkered.


Watson settled for third, Dutterer fourth and Combs fifth.


Lincoln swings back into action next Saturday, April 27th at 7 PM with the Lawrence Chevrolet 410 Sprinters and Keizer Aluminum Wheels 358 Sprints being joined by the Central PA Legends. Gates will open at 5 PM, hot laps at 6:30 PM and racing action getting underway at 7 PM.


To get all the latest news, results, schedule changes and rule changes, visit Lincoln Speedway's website at to stay up-to-date on all the action or pending weather conditions at Central Pennsylvania's "Premier" Saturday night race track - The Fabulous Lincoln Speedway.


Sat., April 20, 2013


Abbottstown, PA


Feature (25-Laps) - 1. 1S-Logan Schuchart ($3,200); 2. 11C-Cory Haas; 3. 15-Adam Wilt; 4. 20S-Fred Rahmer; 5. 21-Brian Montieth; 6. 48-Danny Dietrich; 7. 87-Alan Krimes; 8. 59-Jim Siegel; 9. 19M-Brent Marks; 10. 25-JJ Grasso; 11. 2W-Glenndon Forsythe; 12. 28-Brian Paulus; 13. 1A-Jacob Allen; 14. 95-Hunter Mackison; 15. 92-Ryan Smith; 16. 55K-Robbie Kendall; 17. 50-Tim Glatfelter; 18. 4-John Rudisill; 19. 71X-Bill Stine; 20. 87S-George Suprick; 21. 7JR-Jimmy Reppert (Alt.); 22. 29-Ryan Wilson (DNF); 23. 14-Gerard McIntyre, Jr. (DNF); 24. 8-Billy Dietrich (DNF); DNS – 23-Todd Rittenhouse, Jr. Time – 6:37.236


Lap Leaders – Cory Haas (1-16), Logan Schuchart (17-25)


1st Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 28-Brian Paulus; 2. 15-Adam Wilt; 3. 23-Todd Rittenhouse, Jr.; 4. 87-Alan Krimes; 5. 59-Jim Siegel; 6. 8-Billy Dietrich; 7. 92-Ryan Smith; 8. 71X-Bill Stine; 9. 7JR-Jimmy Reppert. Time – 2:23.510


2nd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 20S-Fred Rahmer; 2. 25-JJ Grasso; 3. 29-Ryan Wilson; 4. 95-Hunter Mackison; 5. 48-Danny Dietrich; 6. 55K-Robbie Kendall; 7. 4-John Rudisill; 8. 3-Clint Ide. Time – 2:23. 582


3rd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 19M-Brent Marks; 2. 21-Brian Montieth; 3. 1S-Logan Schuchart; 4. 11C-Cory Haas; 5. 2W-Glenndon Forsythe; 6. 50-Tim Glatfelter; 7. 1A-Jacob Allen; 8. 14-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 9. 87S-George Suprick. Time – 2:21.789


Consolation (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 92-Ryan Smith; 2. 71X-Bill Stine; 3. 1A-Jacob Allen; 4. 14-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 5. 4-John Rudisill; 6. 87s-George Suprick; 7. 7JR-Jimmy Reppert; 8. 3-Clint Ide. Time – 2:34.652



Feature (20-Laps) - 1. 52-Austin Hogue; 2. 65-Niki Young; 3. 5-Tyler Ross; 4. M1-Mark Smith; 5. 6R-Brad McClelland; 6. 1*-Tim Wagaman; 7. 66-Dale Hammaker; 8. 97-Brie Hershey; 9. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 10. 38-Mark Strickler; 11. 94-Ted Thomas, Jr.; 12. 29-Ryan Wilson; 13. 23-Chris Arnold; 14. 27-Jay Galloway; 15. 2D-Chase Dietz; 16. 119-Chandler Leiby; 17. 28-Matt Findley; 18. 12-Mike Bittinger; 19. 69-Shane Hoff; 20. 7C-J.B. Cunningham; 21. 5o-Brian Allman; 22. 47-Michael Hammer; 23. 13-Eric Tomecek (DNF); 24. 90-Jordan Givler. Time – 5:35.00


Lap Leaders – Austin Hogue (1-20)


1st Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 5-Tyler Ross; 2. M1-Mark Smith; 3. 66-Dale Hammaker; 4. 29-Ryan Wilson; 5. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 6. 7C-JB Cunningham; 7. 28-Matt Findley; 8. 5O-Brian Allman; 9. 55-Matt Krause; DNS – 21-Scott Fisher. Time – 2:22.84


2nd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 1*-Tim Wagaman; 2. 97-Brie Hershey; 3. 52-Austin Hogue; 4. 12-Mike Bittinger; 5. 2D-Chase Dietz; 6. 23-Chris Arnold; 7. 90-Jordon Givler; 8. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 9. 47-Michael Hamer. Time – 2:25.69


3rd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 65-Niki Young; 2. 13-Eric Tomecek; 3. 38-Mark Strickler; 4. 6R-Brad McClelland; 5. 94-Ted Thomas, Jr.; 6. 119-Chandler Leiby; 7. 27-Jay Galloway; 8. 69-Shane Hoff; 9. 89-Ashley Cappetta; DNS – 10-Zach Euculano. Time – 2:27.60


Consolation (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 28-Matt Findley; 2. 27-Jay Galloway; 3. 5o-Brian Allman; 4. 90-Jordan Givler; 5. 69-Shane Hoff; 6. 47-Michael Hammer; 7. 10-Zach Euculano; 8. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 9. 55-Matt Krause; 10. 21-Scott Fisher (DNF); 11. 89-Ashley Cappetta. No Time



Feature (20-Laps) - 1. 72-Jason Townsend; 2. 2W-Brian Walls; 3. 3W-Duane Watson; 4. 39-Wayne Dutterer; 5. 54J-Jimmy Combs; 6. 81J-Jamie Zentmyer; 7. 83-Mikey Guise; 8. 60-Danny Beard; 9. 54W-Roy Warehime (DNF); 10. 9-Brian Diehl (DNF); 11. 3-Todd Miller (DNF).


Lap Leaders – Jason Townsend (1-20)

© 2016 Copyright by Sel-Wil, Inc.