Sep 14, 2013, 23:10

Knaub claims 19th win of the year in “358” late model feature


ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 9/14/13 – Frankie Herr left no doubt in the 39th Annual Lawrence Chevrolet Sportsman 100 at Lincoln Speedway Saturday night.


Herr came from 15th starting spot to grab the lead from Gregg Foster and become the event’s fourth different leader on lap 64, two laps before the caution came out ending the first segment of the 100-lap event.


From there, Herr ran away from the field, crossing a half-lap ahead of seventh-starting Chad Criswell, who edged 2012 “Sportsman 100” winner Scott Dellinger at the line for the runner-up spot.


“I couldn’t see!” said Herr upon exiting his Fastener Specialties/Victory Construction & Home Improvement/Tyson Fence/Dale Henry #99 in victory lane, “I didn’t have near enough tear-offs there starting in the middle of the pack like that. I thought ‘Man, you know what? If I could get to the front I won’t need these tear-offs.’ So I thought, well…that’s what we’ll do.”


“I want to dedicate this win to my race team…everyone involved, and my crew and my wife,” continued Herr, “They make it possible for me.”


Herr had to start on the eighth row because he was only 17th fastest of the 33 cars in the field and then finished second in one of the two 10-lap qualifiers.


Polesitter Steve Fannasy led the first nine laps before giving way to outside front row starter Mike Enders. Enders then paced the field through three caution periods and then a long non-stop run from laps 27 through 52, when a yellow flag came out for Chad Trout, who stopped on the front stretch.


When the green flag came back out on lap 57, Enders led for two more laps before sixth-starting Gregg Foster took over. At the time, Herr fought for every spot and had advanced to fifth.


Foster’s lead was short lived, with Herr moving into third by lap 61, and then taking the runner-up spot from Enders one lap later.


Just before the break, Herr grabbed the lead from Foster coming off turn four as Foster’s car began sputtering low on fuel. Foster faded to fifth, but was saved by the caution leading up to the 66th-lap yellow.


Criswell took the runner-up spot from Dellinger with two to go. Enders settled for fourth, with Foster holding for fifth. Sixth through tenth were Leroy Martin, Doug Dodson, 19th-starting Rich Eichelberger, Steve Fannasy, and 22nd-starting Steve Wilbur.


“The 100 is the one to win,” said Herr, “The battle’s there all season, but this is the one I definitely wanted to win.”

Herr’s total winnings on the night, including $710.73 in lap money and the $60 hard charger award, was $4,770.73.


Super Sportsman qualifiers were won by Dellinger (in a new 10-lap track record of 2:35.65) and Carman Perigo, Jr., with Mallie Shuster winning the last chance race. Fast time in time trials over the 33-car field was set by Scott Geesey with a new one-lap track record time of 15. 133-seconds (89.209 MPH).


Dover’s Gene Knaub make short work of the field in 20-lap “358” late model feature, catching Kyle Lear (who started on the pole after Kyle Martin on the initial start) on turns three and four of lap four.


Knaub, who started third after the restart, crossed 2.81 seconds ahead of Lear, with Cam Zeigler, Bobby Beard, and Sam Gallagher completing the top five.


Zeigler’s third-place finish, Travis Mease’s seventh place finish, and Grant Adams’ tenth place finish guarantees that the Precise Racing Products/Hoosier Mid-Atlantic Trail-Way/Lincoln point championship will not be decided until the final event at Trail-Way September 28th.


Heats for the 19 “358" Late Models were won by Adams and Gallagher.


Lincoln will return to action next Saturday night, September 21, with the ANNUAL KENNY WELD MEMORIAL for the 410 Sprints (40 laps) & Thundercars. Time trials at 7 PM, with gates opening at 5 PM.


To get all the latest news, results, schedule changes and rule changes, visit Lincoln Speedway's website at to stay up-to-date on all the action or pending weather conditions at Central Pennsylvania's "Premier" Saturday night race track - The Fabulous Lincoln Speedway.


Saturday, September 14, 2013


Abbottstown, PA


Feature (100 Laps) - 1. 99-Frankie Herr ($4,000); 2. 55-Chad Criswell; 3. 30-Scott Dellinger; 4. 3B-Mike Enders; 5. 32-Gregg Foster; 6. 21-Leroy Martin; 7. 43-Doug Dodson; 8. 8-Rich Eichelberger; 9. 11-Steve Fannasy; 10. 9K-Steve Wilbur; 11. 222-Jay Fannasy; 12. 25-Bobby Hockenberry; 13. 2-Chad Trout (-1); 14. 69-Mallie Shuster (-1); 15. 93-Carmen Perigo, Jr. (DNF); 16. 20-Eric Eckert (DNF); 17. 00-Rick Barr (DNF); 18. 75-Kenny Edkin (DNF); 19. 20W-Davey Walsh (DNF); 20. 33-Scott Geesey (DNF); 21. 45-Dave Socks (DNF); 22. 1-Paul Miller (DNF); 23. 1J-Kevin Nouse (DNF); 24. 77-Russ Mitten (DNF). No Time


Lap Leaders – Steve Fannasy (1-9), Mike Enders (10-58), Gregg Foster (59-63), Frankie Herr (64-100)


1st Qualifier (10 Laps/5 to qualify) - 1. 30-Scott Dellinger; 2. 99-Frankie Herr; 3. 75-Kenny Edkin; 4. 8-Rich Eichelberger; 5. 20W-Davey Walsh; 6. 69-Mallie Shuster; 7. 59-Rodney Adams; 8. 91-Lanny Hake; 9. 7-Todd Leonard; 10. 22-Jaremi Hanson (DNF); DNS – 17-Brian Gontz. Time – 2:35.65 (New 10-Lap Track Record)


2nd Qualifier (10 Laps/5 to qualify) - 1. 93-Carmen Perigo, Jr.; 2. 77-Russ Mitten; 3. 00-Rick Barr; 4. 25-Bobby Hockenberry; 5. 9K-Steve Wilbur; 6. 45-Dave Socks; 7. 64-Stan Wanner; 8. 99G-Scott Grace; 9. 18-David Conrad, Jr. (DNF); 10. 57G-Geoff Gill (DNF). No Time


Last Chance race (10 Laps/2 to qualify) – 1. 69-Mallie Shuster; 2. 45-Dave Socks; 3. 99G-Scott Grace; 4. 7-Todd Leonard; 5. 64-Stan Wanner; 6. 59-Rodney Adams; 7. 91-Lanny Hake; 8. 57G-Geoff Gill (DNF); 9. 22-Jaremi Hanson (DNF); 10. 18-David Gill (DNF); 11. 17-Brian Gontz (DNF). No Time


Time Trials – 1. 33-Scott Geesey, 15.133 seconds (89.209 MPH)(NEW 1-LAP TRACK RECORD); 2. 55C-Chad Criswell, 15.199; 3. 32-Gregg Foster, 15.458; 4. 222-Jay Fannasy, 15.481; 5. 1-Paul Miller, 15.541; 6. 21-Leroy Martin, 15.542; 7. 3B-Mike Enders, 15.543; 8. 11-Steve Fannasy, 15.562; 9. 1J-Kevin Nouse, 15.591; 10. 43-Doug Dodson, 15.626; 11. 20-Eric Eckert, 15.627; 12. 2-Chad Trout, 15.641; 13. 30-Scott Dellinger, 15.652; 14. 43-Carmen Perigo, Jr., 15.655; 15. 75-Kenny Edkin, 15.675; 16. 9K-Steve Wilbur, 15.690; 17. 99-Frankie Herr, 15.694; 18. 00-Rick Barr, 15.699; 19. 8-Rich Eichelberger, 15.730; 20. 77-Russ Mitten, 15.764; 21. 77-Brian Gontz, 15.800; 22. 45-Dave Socks, 15.829; 23. 59-Rodney Adams, 15.838; 24. 25-Bobby Hockenberry, 15.860; 25. 20W-Davey Walsh, 15.879; 26. 64-Stan Wanner, 15.924; 27. 91-Lanny Hake, 15.936; 28. 18-David Conrad, Jr., 16.052; 29. 69-Mailie Shuster, 16.058; 30. 57G-Geoff Gill, 16.060; 31. 7-Todd Leonard, 16.076; 32. 99G-Scott Grace, 16.099; 33. 22-Jaremi Hanson, 16.372.



Feature (20 laps) - 1. 1-Gene Knaub; 2. 151-Kyle Lear; 3. 21Z-Cam Zeigler; 4. 29-Bobby Beard; 5. 25-Sam Gallagher; 6. X-Bernie Beard; 7. 116-Travis Mease; 8. 54-Kyle Martin; 9. 48-Larry Baer; 10. 64-Grant Adams; 11. 14-Tyler Horst; 12. 62-Devin Frey; 13. 78-John Ebersole; 14. 7-Pat Beard; 15. 5-Jake Moser; 16. 4-John Moser, Jr.; 17. 50-Jason Smith; 18. 11-Sam Rial; 19. 68-Carl Leach. No Time


Lap Leaders – Kyle Lear (1-3), Gene Knaub (4-20)


1st Heat (8 Laps) - 1. 64-Grant Adams; 2. 48-Larry Baer; 3. 29-Bobby Beard; 4. 21Z-Cam Zeigler; 5. X-Bernie Beard; 6. 116-Travis Mease; 7. 7-Pat Beard; 8. 50-Jason Smith; 9. 5-Jake Moser; 10. 68-Carl Leach. Time – 2:14.78


2nd Heat (8 Laps) - 1. 25-Sam Gallagher; 2. 1-Gene Knaub; 3. 151-Kyle Lear; 4. 54-Kyle Martin; 5. 14-Tyler Horst; 6. 62-Devin Fry; 7. 4-John Moser, Jr.; 8. 78-John Ebersole; 9. 11-Sam Rial. Time – 2:14.22

© 2016 Copyright by Sel-Wil, Inc.