Oct 18, 2008, 21:42
Sam Gallagher caps-off championship season with fifth win of year

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA , 10/18/08 - Every time Fred Rahmer wins he establishes a new record at Lincoln Speedway. But when he exited his C&S Lawn & Landscape/Miller Brothers Automotive #51 on Saturday night, he called win number 161 one of his most satisfying.

"I knew when I left home that I was winning tonight one way or another," said a matter-of-fact Rahmer in victory lane after scoring the win in the 25-lap "410" sprint feature, "Itís pretty neat when your 12-year-old boy (Freddie) did 80% of the work on the car this week. Iím so proud of him, and this is probably one of the best wins Iíve ever had."

An experimental qualifying format that inverted cars for their heats based on the fastest lap they turned in five-lap warm-up periods saw Rahmer start fourth in his heat. He went on to take the checkered in his qualifying event, garnering him the most points in the passing points system used to determine the starting line-up for the feature.

After drawing pill #5 for the inversion, Rahmer started fifth behind front-row starters Chad Layton and Pat Cooper and second-row starters Todd Hestor and Lance Dewease. Dewease and Rahmer advanced to second and third by lap three, and followed leader Chad Layton through one caution flag over the next three laps before Dewease drove by Layton for the top spot in turns three and four of lap seven.

Rahmer caught Layton for second on the restart following an eight-lap red flag for Brian Leppo, who struck the wall hard and did everything but flip on turns three and four.

Rahmer then followed Dewease before pulling the slider on the Advanced Settlement Services #30C exiting turn four of lap 11. Following a 14th-lap caution for a spinning Niki Young, Dewease tried the same move on Rahmer exiting turn four. The two tapped wheels, but both drivers regained control and Rahmer hung onto the lead.

"Iíd say that with 90% of the other drivers here, we would have crashed coming off four, but he gave me just enough room," said Rahmer, "I hope the fans enjoyed a good race."

The ten-time Lincoln champ was never seriously challenged after that, crossing 2.73 seconds in front of Dewease for his seventh Lincoln win of 2008.

Dewease settled for second, with Layton third. Mark Smith came from 11th to finish fourth, and Jim Siegel was fifth. Sixth through tenth were 22nd-starting Cris Eash, 19th-starting Alan Krimes, 17th-starting Greg Hodnett, John Rudisill, and Ď08 Lincoln champ Brian Montieth.

While pulling his inversion pill earlier in the evening, Rahmer confirmed he would be back in the Chad and Jen Clemens #51 again next year.

Heats for the 29 410 Sprints were won by Hestor, Rahmer, Cooper, and Rudisill, with Leppo winning the consolation.

Sam Gallagher capped off his championship season in style Saturday as he claimed his series-leading fifth win of 2008 in the 20-lap Thundercar feature.

Gallagher, who started 10th, chased early race-leaders Rick Weaver and Danny Beard for the first seven laps before making his race-winning move around Beard on the eighth lap.

But the race was far from over as both 2007 track champion Duane Watson and Mike Slaybaugh closed onto the Hanover champ in a final one-lap dash to the checkered with Gallagher holding them off to take the checkered .41-seconds ahead for Watson to record his ninth career win at the Pigeon Hills oval.

Slaybaugh finished third, Weaver fourth and Larry Neiderer fifth. Completing the top-10 were Scott Fisher, Mikey Guise, Jimmy Combs, Justin Mong, and Gino Comi.

Heats for the 28 Thundercars were won by Watson, Weaver, and Gallagher.

Lincoln Speedway will hold there 2008 Lincoln Speedway Awards Banquet on Saturday night, Nov. 22nd, at the Holiday Inn, 2000 Loucks Road, York, PA 17408. Tickets are $30 each and must be purchased by November 15th. Tickets can be ordered by sending a check made payable to Sel-Wil, Inc., 134 Sarasota Circle, Carlisle, PA 17015. If you wish to make reservations, contact the speedway office at (717) 796-2001.

To get all the latest news, results, schedule changes and rule changes, visit Lincoln Speedway's website at http://www.lincolnspeedway.com to stay up-to-date on all the action or pending weather conditions at Central Pennsylvania's "Premier" Saturday night race track - The Fabulous Lincoln Speedway.

Saturday - October 18, 2008
Abbottstown, PA
(25 Laps) - 1. 51-Fred Rahmer ($3,000); 2. 30C-Lance Dewease; 3. 25-Chad Layton; 4. 7M-Mark Smith; 5. 59-Jim Siegel; 6. 17E-Cris Eash; 7. 87-Alan Krimes; 8. 22-Greg Hodnett; 9. 4-Todd Hestor; 10. 21-Brian Montieth; 11. 11C-Cory Haas; 12. 89-Cody Darrah; 13. 10N-Niki Young; 14. 27-Sean Michael; 15. 38N-Nick Schlauch Jr.; 16. 15-Adam Wilt; 17. 4-John Rudisill; 18. 47J-Jeff Busby; 19. 9-Craig Keel; 20. 26-Pat Cooper; 21. D4-Danny Holtgraver; 22. 25o-Aaron Ott (DNF); 23. 71-Brian Leppo (DNF); 24. 12-Mike Bittinger (DNF). No Time

Lap Leaders - Chad Layton (1-6), Lance Dewease (7-10), Fred Rahmer (11-25)

1st Heat (10 Laps/5 to qualify) - 1. 4-Todd Hestor; 2. 25-Chad Layton; 3. 27-Sean Michael; 4. 59-Jim Siegel; 5. 47J-Jeff Busby; 6. 71-Brian Leppo; 7. 71X-Bill Stine (DNF); 8. 6W-Josh Wells (DNF). No Time

2nd Heat (10 Laps/5 to qualify) - 1. 51-Fred Rahmer; 2. 15-Adam Wilt; 3. D4-Danny Holtgraver; 4. 10N-Niki Young; 5. 89-Cody Darrah; 6. 23-Todd Rittenhouse Jr.; 7. 55Z-Mark Zimmerman. Time - 2:19.838

3rd Heat (10 Laps/5 to qualify) - 1. 26-Pat Cooper; 2. 12-Mike Bittinger; 3. 25o-Aaron Ott; 4. 21-Brian Montieth; 5. 22-Greg Hodnett; 6. 17E-Cris Eash; 7. 43-Doug Dodson. Time - 2:25.471

4th Heat (10 Laps/5 to qualify) - 1. 30C-Lance Dewease; 2. 4-John Rudisill; 3. 7M-Mark Smith; 4. 11C-Cory Haas; 5. 87-Alan Krimes; 6. 38N-Nick Schlauch, Jr.; 7. 9-Craig Keel. Time - 2:22.221

Consolation (10 Laps/4 to qualify) - 1. 71-Brian Leppo; 2. 17E-Cris Eash; 3. 38N-Nick Schlauch Jr.; 4. 9-Craig Keel; 5. 43-Doug Dodson; 6. 23-Todd Rittenhouse Jr.; 7. 6W-Josh Wells; 8. 55Z-Mark Zimmerman; 9. 71X-Bill Stine (DNF). Time -2:33.415

(20 Laps) - 1. 25-Sam Gallagher; 2. 3W-Duane Watson; 3. 61M-Mike Slaybaugh; 4. 70-Rick Weaver; 5. 21N-Larry Neiderer; 6. 20-Scott Fisher; 7. 93-Mikey Guise; 8. 54J-Jimmy Combs; 9. 77-Justin Mong; 10. 33-Gino Comi; 11. 21-Ronnie Thomas; 12. 8MD-David Prunkl; 13. 15-David Reever, Jr.; 14. 8J-Justin Bittle; 15. 129-Randy Doty; 16. 21X-Jason Neiderer; 17. 44-A.J. Parson; 18. 60-Danny Beard (DNF); 19. 54-Kyle Martin (DNF); 20. 61-Sleeper Miller; 21. 3-Todd Miller (DNF); 22. 44-Bobby Beard (DNF); 23. 57-Brad Shank (DNS).

Lap Leaders - Rick Weaver (1-3); Danny Beard (4-7); Sam Gallagher (8-20)

1st Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 3W-Duane Watson; 2. 77-Justin Mong; 3. 33-Gino Comi; 4.21N-Larry Neiderer; 5. 21-Ronnie Thomas; 6. 8J-Justin Bittle; 7. 15U-Josh Ulrich; 8. 41-Nick McDaniel (DNF); 9. 44-A.J. Parson (DNF); 10. 7-Tony Rose (DNF). No time.

2nd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 70-Rick Weaver; 2. 54J-Jimmy Combs; 3. 61M-Mike Slaybaugh; 4. 8MD-David Prunkl; 5. 3-Todd Miller; 6. 44-Bobby Beard; 7. 61-Sleeper Miller; 8. 20-Scott Fisher; 9. 21X-Jason Neiderer; 10. 57-Brad Shank (DNF). Time - 2:38.62

3rd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 25-Sam Gallagher; 2. 93-Mikey Guise; 3. 60-Danny Beard; 4. 15-Dave Reever; 5. 54-Kyle Martin; 6. 129-Randy Doty; 7. 84-Josh Wildasin; 8. 2W-Brian Walls (DNF); 9. 01-Will Walls (DNF). No Time

© 2016 Copyright by Sel-Wil, Inc.