Aug 14, 2010, 23:43

Curt Michael Wins 43rd career URC Feature

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA , 8/14/10 - Brent Marks used the luck of the draw and a fast race car to drive to his second career 25-lap 410 Sprint car feature win Saturday night at Lincoln Speedway.

The young Myerstown racer drew the pole position for the feature and kept the top guns at bay, leading all 25 laps of the feature.

"It's about time I got to start up front," said Marks, who pilots a family owned No. 19M sprinter. "I've had no luck at starting up front but tonight we did and had a good run. We stuck to our normal game and it worked out great for us tonight."

Cory Haas challenged Marks in heavy traffic during the first half of the feature as Brian Montieth started 12th and was marching his way to the front.

Montieth moved into the top five on lap 10 and had just got around Brian Leppo for fourth when he ran into the rear of a lapped car and spun in turn one to bring out the caution flag.

Marks continued to set the pace with Haas a close second.

Haas good run ended on lap 14 when he spun out in turn two. Leppo challenged Marks for a couple of laps before Mark Smith got around him for the runner up spot on lap 20.

Marks had checked out from the field when Smith took second place and easily scored the win, his first of the season. Marks ability to work through heavy traffic aided in his $3,000 payday.

"Thatís one of the reasons why we chose Lincoln as our home track is because Iíve always felt comfortable in lapped traffic in all of the other divisions that Iíve raced," Marks stated. "Once I got used to this car and the speed, itís a lot easier to get through the traffic here. The car sticks that I donít have to worry about crashing it."

Drivers received 100 show up points only for the night due to several Lincoln regulars competing at the Knoxville Nationals and Marks would have benefitted had the race been a points show.

"I really needed this to be a points race tonight, especially with Brianís bad luck," he said.

We need to catch him and tonight would have helped. But well have to keep after it the rest of the season. Marks will have three more points shows to make his bid for his first career title.

Mark Smith was second over Alan Krimes, Brian Leppo and 16th starting Jim Siegel with Danny Dietrich, Brad McClelland, Montieth, Michael Carber and Gerard McIntyre, Jr. completing the top 10 finishers.

Heat races for the 26 "410" Sprints were won by Gerard McIntyre, Jr., Michael Carber and Brian Montieth. Bob Howard won the consolation.

Curt Michael reeled in leader Justin Collett on the 11th lap to win the 25-lap URC Sprint feature.

Michael, a six-time URC champion, started in the 10th spot and worked his way to the front in quick fashion.

The race was marred by a red flag on lap 10 when Jimmy Stitzel and Nick Schlauch both flipped in turn two. Both drivers were running in the top five.

Michael drove by Collett on the restart and onto his 43rd career URC win but his first of the 2010 season.

Collett, points leader JJ Grasso, Rory Janney, Kramer Williamson, Randy West, Trevor Lewis, Mark Bitner, Josh Weller and Tim Ilug were the top 10 finishers.

Heat races for the 27 URC Sprints were won by Jimmy Stitzel, Trevor Lewis and Rory Janney. Kevin Darling won the consolation.

Next Saturday night, August 14th, at 7:30 PM, Lincoln Speedway will host the 58th Anniversary Show on John Gleim, Jr. Excavating night. The 410 Sprints ($5,800 to win) will be joined by the 358 Sprints for the special show. Gates open at 5:30pm with time trials beginning at 7:30pm.

To get all the latest news, results, schedule changes and rule changes, visit Lincoln Speedway's website at to stay up-to-date on all the action or pending weather conditions at Central Pennsylvania's "Premier" Saturday night race track - The Fabulous Lincoln Speedway.

Saturday, August 14, 2010
Abbottstown, PA
(25-Laps) - 1. 19M-Brent Marks; 2. 7M-Mark Smith; 3. 87-Alan Krimes; 4. 71-Brian Leppo; 5. 59-Jim Siegel; 6. 48-Danny Dietrich; 7. 6-Brad McClelland; 8. 21-Brian Montieth; 9. 19H-Michael Carber; 10. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 11. 15B-Mark Bitner; 12. 71X-Bill Stine; 13. 7-Ed Aiken; 14. 4-John Rudisill; 15. 39T-Tim Gladfelter; 16. 45-Kyle Pruitt; 17. 49-Bob Howard; 18. 23-Todd Rittenhouse, Jr. (DNF); 19. 65-Johnny Mackison, Jr. (DNF); 20. 747-Kevin Nagy (DNF); 21. 26-Pat Cooper (DNF); 22. 11C-Cory Haas (DNF); 23. 3B-Randy Baughman (DNF); 24. 0-Steve Storrie (DNF). No Time

Lap Leaders - Brent Marks (1-25)

1st Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr. 2. 19M-Brent Marks; 3. 7-Ed Aiken; 4. 39T-Tim Glatfelter; 5. 48-Danny Dietrich; 6. 59-Jim Siegel; 7. 49-Bob Howard; 8. 0-Steve Storrie; 9. 20S-Derek Sell (DNS). Time 2:20.58

2nd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 19H-Michael Carber; 2. 7M-Mark Smith; 3. 15-Mark Bitner; 4. 71-Brian Leppo; 5. 87-Alan Krimes; 6. 6-Brad McClelland; 7. 3B-Randy Baughman; 8. 45-Kyle Pruitt; 9. 74JR-JR Berry. Time - 2:21.12

3rd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 21-Brian Montieth; 2. 65-Johnny Mackison, Jr.; 3. 11C-Cory Haas; 4. 26-Pat Cooper; 5. 4-John Rudisill; 6. 23-Todd Rittenhouse, Jr.; 7. 71X-Bill Stine; 8. 747-Kevin Nagy. Time 2:24.28

Consolation (6 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. Bob Howard; 2. Bill Stine; 3. 3B-Randy Baughman; 4. 45-Kyle Pruitt; 5. 747-Kevin Nagy; 6. 0-Steve Storrie; 7. 74JR-JR Berry. Time 1:31.75

(25 laps) 1. 5G-Curt Michael; 2. 92-Justin Collett; 3. 99-JJ Grasso; 4. 88-Rory Janney; 5. 73-Kramer Williamson; 6. 56-Randy West; 7. 21-Trevor Lewis; 8. 15-Mark Bitner; 9. 63-Josh Weller; 10. 8s-Tim Ilug; 11. 2-Art Liedl; 12. 22-Becca Anderson; 13. 6-Garry Gollub; 14. 9D-Kevin Darling; 15. 39-Tim Hogue; 16. 64K-Kyle Purks; 17. 89-Robbie Stillwaggon; 18. 17J-Jonathon Swanson; 19. 47-Tim Higgins; 20. 88B-Andy Best; 21. 29-Chris Weiss; 22. 12-Jimmy Stitzel; 23. 38N-Nick Schlauch, Jr.; 24. 00-Kevin Nouse. No Time.

Lap Leaders - Justin Collett (1-10), Curt Michael (11-25)

1st Heat (8 laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 12-Jimmy Stitzel; 2. 92-Justin Collett; 3. 29-Chris Weiss; 4. 2-Art Liedl; 5. 00-Kevin Nouse; 6. 38N-Nick Schlauch, Jr.; 7. 9D-Kevin Darling; 8. 40-Mike Kostic; 9. 63-Josh Weller (DNF). No Time

2nd Heat (8 laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 21-Trevor Lewis; 2. 89-Robbie Stillwaggon; 3. 8s-Tim Ilug; 4. 5G-Curt Michael; 5. 6-Garry Gollub; 6. 22-Becca Anderson (DNF); 7. 88B-Andy Best (DQ); 8. 64K-Kyle Purks (DNS); 9. 17J-Jonathon Swanson (DNS). Time 1:53.64

3rd Heat (8 laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 88-Rory Janney; 2. 7-Kramer Williamson; 3. 39-Tim Hogue; 4. 56-Randy West; 5. 99-JJ Grasso; 6. 15-Mark Bitner; 7. 21x-Jerry Speck; 8. 47-Tim Higgins; 9. 47M-Bill Unglert (DNF). No Time

Consolation (3 laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 9D-Kevin Darling; 2. 63-Josh Weller; 3. 88-Andy Best; 4. 47-Tim Higgins (DNF); 5. 17J-Jonathon Swanson (DNF); 6. 40-Mike Kostic (DNF); 7. 21X-Jerry Speck (DNF). No Time

© 2016 Copyright by Sel-Wil, Inc.