Sep 17, 2011, 00:11

Knaub wins race, track title in “358” late models;


ABBOTTSTOWN, PA, 9/17/2011 – “I never led lap 100 and I was going to try and do that tonight,” quipped a jubilant Carmen Perigo, Jr. after winning his first career Lawrence Chevrolet Sportsman 100 at Lincoln Speedway Saturday night.


Perigo, who has finished second in several Sportsman 100’s, started tenth by virtue of a heads-up start based on time for the fastest 12 drivers in time trials, and stayed pretty invisible during the first 70 laps of the 100-lap event.


“I was a little too free the whole 70 laps,” said Perigo, “It was all I could do to hang on. The only way I could pass cars was when we hit lapped traffic. We tightened it up a little bit, and actually we didn’t tighten it up enough. It took some traffic to bring Frank back to me and I at least I had a legitimate shot at him. But once I saw I was on his bumper…he was in a ‘no win’ situation and I was coming by.”


When the race restarted after the mandatory 10-lap red on lap 70, Perigo wasted no time in advancing from seventh to third on laps 71 and 72, first passing polesitter Rick Barr and Scott Geesey on lap 71, and then getting by Russ Mitten for third on lap 72.


Perigo watched Paul Miller and sixth-starting Frankie Herr battle for the lead for the next eight laps before driving under Miller for second on lap 80. He then chased Herr for the next 18 laps before pulling the race-winning slider in turns three and four to take the lead as he and Herr were coming off turn four to take the white flag.


Perigo drove away over the final lap to a .63-second win and the $4,000 top prize.


“I won championships before,” said Perigo, “But I never won this race. This was my goal this year, and we fulfilled it.”


Perigo’s win came in the 60th year of racing for car owner Walt Bigler.


Herr, who was seeking his sixth Sportsman 100 win and led on two different occasions for a total of 30 laps, settled for second, with Paul Miller (who also led twice and led the most laps), former Scott Dellinger, and early race leader Scott Geesey completing the top five. Sixth through tenth were Rick Barr, Steve Wilbur, Leroy Martin, Jay Fannasy, and Bobby Hockenberry.


Super Sportsman qualifiers were won by Martin and Mitten, with Lanny Hake winning the last chance race.

Fast time in time trials over the 34-car field was set by Rick Barr with a one-lap time of 15.567 seconds (86.722 MPH).


Dover’s Gene Knaub capped off his championship season with his fourth win in six Lincoln races in the 358 late models. Knaub officially started 12th, but lined up eighth in a single-file restart after four unsuccessful attempts to start the race. He took the lead from polesitter and race-long leader Carl Graves on the seventh lap. He drove away to a 3.91-second win over D.J. Mease, with Grant Adams coming on strong at the end for third, Ralph Morgan fourth, and Graves completing the top five.


The early race crashes took out points contenders Chase Billet and Bobby Beard. Adams, who was only 15 points behind Knaub entering the race, came from the back to finish third following one of the early-race crashes.


Heats for the 25 “358" Late Models were won by Adams, Bobby Beard, and Cam Zeigler.


Next Saturday night, Sept. 17th at 7 PM, the Super Sportsman will be running their Annual Lawrence Chevrolet Sportsman 100. The 358 Late Models will round out the special two-division show. Gates will open at 5 PM.


To get all the latest news, results, schedule changes and rule changes, visit Lincoln Speedway's website at to stay up-to-date on all the action or pending weather conditions at Central Pennsylvania's "Premier" Saturday night race track ‑ The Fabulous Lincoln Speedway.



Saturday, Sept 17, 2011


Abbottstown, PA


Feature (100 Laps) - 1. 93-Carmen Perigo, Jr. ($4,020); 2. 99-Frankie Herr; 3. 58-Paul Miller; 4. 30-Scott Dellinger; 5. 33-Scott Geesey; 6. 00-Rick Barr; 7. 9K-Steve Wilbur; 8. 66-Leroy Martin; 9. 222-Jay Fannasy; 10. 25-Bobby Hockenberry; 11. 21-Duaine Smith; 12. 55-Jim Shuster; 13. 83F-Cody Fairchok; 14. 83-Greg Robinson; 15. 77-Russ Mitten (DNF); 16. 3B-Mike Enders (DNF);17. 20-Eric Eckert (DNF); 18. 8-Rich Eichelberger (DNF); 19. 88W-Eric Walker (DNF); 20. 64-Stan Wanner (DNF); 21. 45-Dave Socks (DNF); 22. 5-Dave Berkheimer (DNF); 23. 55H-Chad Criswell (DNF); 24. 91-Lanny Hake (DNF).


Lap Leaders - Scott Geesey (1-21), Paul Miller (22-63), Frankie Herr (64-70), Paul Miller (71-75), Frankie Herr (76-98), Carmen Perigo, Jr. (99-100)


1st Qualifier (10 Laps/5 to qualify) - 1. 66-Leroy Martin; 2. 3B-Mike enders; 3. 20-Eric Eckert; 4. 83-Gary Robinson; 5. 21-Duaine Smith; 6. 99G-Scott Grace; 7. 6-Daryl Shaffer; 8. 91-Lanny hake; 9. 2-Ken Keyton; 10. 56T-Lee Taylor (DNF); 11. 33-John Garman (DNF). Time – 2:37.73


2nd Qualifier (10 Laps/5 to qualify) - 1. 77-Russ Mitten; 2. 55H-Chad Criswell; 3. 45-Dave Socks; 4. 5-Dave Berkheimer; 5. 83F-Cody Fairchok; 6. 318-Chris Meleason; 7. 64-Stan Wanner; 8. 71K-Glenn Keller; 9. 85-Jarod Miller; 10. 16-Jeff Leisey; DNS – 7X-Nat Tuckey. Time – 2:38.53


Time Trials - 1. 00-Rick Barr, 15.567 seconds (86.722 MPH); 2. 33R-Scott Geesey, 15.610; 3. 8-Rich Eichelberger, 15.641 ; 4. 222-Jay Fannasy, 15.666; 5. 58-Paul Miller, 15.667; 6. 99-Frankie Herr, 15.697; 7. 30-Scott Dellinger, 15.710; 8. 55-Jim Shuster, 15.758; 9. 9K-Steve Wilbur, 15.781; 10. 93-Carmen Perigo, Jr., 15.784; 11. 88W-Eric Walker, 15.787; 12. 25-Bobby Hockenberry, 15.799; 13. 66-Leroy Martin, 15.812; 14. 55H-Chad Criswell, 15.822; 15. 3B-Mike Enders, 15.822; 16. 77-Russ Mitten, 15.891; 17. 20-Eric Eckert, 15.908; 18. 45-Dave Socks, 15.911; 19. 83-Greg Robinson, 15.950; 20. 5-Dave Berkheimer, 16.001; 21. 99G-Scott Grace, 16.035; 22. 318-Chris Meleason, 16.075; 23. 56T-Lee Taylor, 16.089; 24. 83F-Cody Fairchok, 16.140; 25. 21-Duaine Smith, 16.141; 26. 64-Stan Wanner, 16.228; 27. 6-Daryl Sheaffer, 16.240; 28. 85-Jared Miller, 16.268; 29. 91-Lanny Hake, 16.374; 30. 71K-Glenn Keller, 16.489; 31. 33-John Garman, 16.555; 32. 16-Jeff Leisey, 16.734; 33. 2-Ken Keyton, 16.959; 34. 7X-Nat Tuckey, NT.



Feature (20 laps) - 1. 1k-Gene Knaub; 2. 18-DJ Mease; 3. 64-Grant Adams; 4. 44-Ralph Morgan; 5. NINE-Carl Graves; 6. 21J-John Baker; 7. 116-Travis Mease; 8. 78-John Ebersole; 9. 21Z-Cam Zeigler; 10. 21B-Travis Beaver; 11. 100-Tommy Slanker; 12. 21-Chad Myers; 13. 9W-Steve Weikel; 14. 121-Larry Neiderer; 15. 19-drew Weisser; 16. 25-Tommy Blackwell (DNF); 17. 14-Tyler Horst (DNF); 18. 10H-Fred Harden (DNF); 19. 1W-Mike Walls (DNF); 20. 22-Chase Billet (DNF); 21. 15-Kris Eaten (DNF); 22. 81S-Bobby Beard (DNF); 23. 67-Bernie Beard (DNF); 24. 1E-Brad Shank (DNF). No Time


Lap Leaders – Carl Graves (1-6), Gene Knaub (7-20)


1st Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 64-Grant Adams; 2. 18-DJ Mease; 3. NINE-Carl Graves; 4. 9W-Steve Weikel; 5. 25-Tommy Blackwell; 6. 21J-John Baker; 7. 19-Drew Weisser; 8. 21-Chad Myers; 9. 44-Tim Walls (DNF). No Time


2nd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 81S-Bobby Beard; 2. 22-Chase Billet; 3. 67-Bernie Beard; 4. 78-John Ebersole; 5. 100-Tommy Slanker; 6. 15-Kris Eaton; 7. 121-Larry Neiderer; 8. 7-Todd Leonard; 9. 1E-Brad Shank (DNF). No Time


3rd Heat (8 Laps/6 to qualify) - 1. 21Z-Cam Zeigler; 2. 1-Gene Knaub; 3. 1W-Mike Walls; 4. 44-Ralph Morgan; 5. 116-Travis Mease; 6. 21B-Travis Mease; 7. 10H-Fred Harden; 8. 14-Tyler Horst. Time – 2:16.04 (New 8-Lap Track Record, breaking the previous record of 2:16.67 set by Justin Ehrhart on 4/5/2008)
© 2016 Copyright by Sel-Wil, Inc.