Nov 17, 2012, 21:30


Tim Wagaman wins first Lincoln 358 Sprint Title;

Watson thundercar champ for third time;


YORK, PA, 11/20/10 - Lincoln Speedway track champions and special year-end awards were handed out at the Holiday Inn in York Saturday night, November 17th. More than 200 people were in attendance to watch the crowning of the 410 sprint, 358 sprint, and thundercar champions for 2012. The top finishers in the season-long point series for all three divisions were honored as well as special awards.



For the first time in five years, Lincoln crowned a new track champion in 2012. Rising 410 sprint car star Danny Dietrich scored nine Lincoln wins during a breakout season that included his first-ever victories against the World of Outlaws and All-Star Circuit of Champions and the annual Kenny Weld/Hilly Rife Memorial race en route to his first Lawrence Chevrolet 410 Sprint Track Championship.

Four-time track champ (2008-2011) Brian Montieth of Phoenixville was the other big winner during the year, with the Spring Sprint Championship, Lincoln Keystone Cup race, Gohn Memorial, PA Speedweek, and the annual Hank Gentzler Manufacturers Appreciation events among his eight wins. And his eight wins bumped him up to ninth on the all-time Lincoln career win list (passing Van May) win list with 34. Despite the wins, he was only able to finish sixth in points in another season filled with competitive Lincoln racing.

Together, Dietrich and Montieth claimed 17 of the 27 races, with Dietrich finishing in the top five 20 times and top ten 23 of the 27events, and Montieth amassing 16 top-five finishes. Dietrich’s nine wins placed him into a 19th-place tie with Steve Kinser on the all-time Lincoln win list.

It was also the first track title for car owner Gary Kauffman and sponsors Sandoe’s Fruit Market and APM Buildings. Dietrich’s title also secured chief wrench Jacob Hinkle his first Mechanic of the Year award.

Myerstown’s Brent Marks nailed down second in season points in the TJ’s Body Shop/BAPA Paints & Auto Supply #19M. Marks scored a second-week win, ten top ten and 21 top five finishes to finish 265 points behind Dietrich in season points.

Cory Haas had his best-ever year in a 410 sprinter, finishing third in points on the strength of four wins, doubling his Lincoln career total to eight. Haas scored 17 top-fives and 21 top-10 finishes. Haas’ wins included the season finale on October 13th.

Denver’s Alan Krimes scored one win, 15 top-fives and 20 top-tens to finish fourth in season points.

New Oxford’s Jim Siegel went winless in 2012, but finished in the top five five times and top ten 17 times to round out the top five in season points.

Completing the top ten in season points were Montieth, 2012 most improved driver Gerard McIntyre, Jr., Billy Dietrich (who claimed his first career Lincoln 410 sprint win on April 28th), Brad McClelland (one win), and Adam Wilt (who lone season win was on opening day on February 25th).

The other Lincoln winner in 2012 was Brian Leppo on March 17th.

All told, there were nine different winners in 27 races at Lincoln in 2012.

Third-generation driver Hunter Mackison, who finished the season 16th in points, was recognized as Lincoln’s 2012 rookie of-the-year.


  • Super Sprint Champion – Danny Dietrich
  • Mechanic of the Year – Jacob Hinkle
  • Rookie of the Year – Hunter Mackison
  • Sportsmanship Award – Chad Criswell
  • Most Improved Driver – Gerard McIntyre, Jr.


In a season that saw 14 different winners in 17 events, Hanover’s Tim Wagaman was the most consistent of all drivers in claiming his first-ever track title in the 358 sprint car division.

And he did it without registering a win at the Pigeon Hills oval during the season, dethroning uncle Jeff Rohrbaugh by a mere 30 points in a battle that went down to the final points race. Despite being winless, Wagaman registered six top-five and 13 top-ten finishes in the 17 events.

Rohrbaugh, whose lone win was in the 358 sprint season opener on March 10th, finished second on the strength of a win, seven top-five, and 11 top-ten finishes. Rohrbaugh was also the division’s leading heat winner with six.

Norristown’s Todd Rittenhouse, Jr. recorded five top-five and 11 top-ten finishes en route to third in season points.

Niki Young finished fourth in points with a division-leading three wins, division-leading eight top fives, and a division-leading 13 top ten finishes.

Most improved driver Austin Hogue, one of eight drivers recording their first career Lincoln win in 2012, finished fifth in points. His win came on his sponsor’s night, BAPS Auto Paints & Supply Night on July 14th.

Other first-time winners in 2012 were lady driver Brie Hershey, D.J. Montgomery, Jacob Allen, Mark Smith, Matt Mountz, Shane Hoff, and Ryan Wilson. The only other repeat winner in 2012 was Scott Fisher.

Sixth through tenth in season points were Nathan Berwager, rookie of-the-year Ryan Wilson (one win), sportsmanship award winner Cris Eash (one win), Tyler Ross, and Mike Bittinger (one win).


  • 358 Sprint Champion – Tim Wagaman
  • Rookie of the Year – Ryan Wilson
  • Sportsmanship Award – Cris Eash
  • Most Improved Driver – Austin Hogue


Abbottstown’s Duane Watson joined some elite company in the thundercar division, becoming only the second driver to ever win three track titles. (Bernie Beard’s five track titles leads all drivers with five titles, and Watson joins Bobby Beard as a three-time track champ.) In 14 events, Watson’s four wins also included 11 top-five finishes. He is third on the all-time Lincoln thundercar win list with 37.

Mike Slaybaugh, 2012 sportsmanship award winner, took the title chase against Watson down to the final race with one win, six top-fives and a division-leading 13 top-tens to finish second in season points. Third through fifth in season points were Jimmy Combs (who recorded his first career win on July 28th), Todd Miller, and Brian Walls (who was tied with Watson for most wins on the season at four).

Sixth through tenth in points were most improved driver Mikey Guise, Kyle Martin (one win), Danny Beard, Wayne Dutterer, and Will Walls.

In addition Combs, other first-time winners were Wayne Dutterer and rookie of-the-year Jimmy Jesmer.

There were eight different winners in 14 races.


  • Thundercar Champion – Duane Watson
  • Rookie of the Year – Jimmy Jesmer
  • Sportsmanship Award – Mike Slaybaugh
  • Most Improved Driver – Mikey Guise

© 2016 Copyright by Sel-Wil, Inc.